THERE were no last-minute surprises as the final line-up of candidates was confirmed for the Aberconwy and Clwyd West seats in the General Election.

A total of six candidates for Aberconwy and seven for Clwyd West were confirmed for the May 7 election when the nominations closed on Thursday, April 9.

Voters in Aberconwy will have a choice between the following candidates: Victor Babu - Liberal Democrat, Guto Bebb - Conservative, Petra Haig - Green Party, Andrew Haigh - UKIP, Dafydd Meurig - Plaid Cymru, Mary Wimbury - Labour.

Voters in Clwyd West will have a choice between the following candidates: Bob English - Socialist Labour Party, Rory Jepson - Above and beyond party, David Jones - Conservative, Marc Jones - Plaid Cymru, Sarah Lesister-Burgess - Liberal Democrat, Warwick Nicholson - UKIP, Gareth Thomas - Labour.

For General Election updates and to see a full breakdown of the candidates, visit the North Wales Pioneer General Election page.