Gwynedd council has elected its new chair for the next year.

At the meeting in Caernarfon on Thursday, Cllr Annwen Hughes was elected as the authority’s chair with Cllr Edgar Wyn Owen (Waunfawr) to serve as her vice-chair.

A Gwynedd Councillor since 2012, representing Llanbedr, Cllr Hughes has served on a number of committees including Scrutiny (Communities), Licensing, Cambrian Railway, Democratic Services, Meirionnydd Area Forum and as of last year is a member of the Snowdonia National Park Authority.

She is also a Governor at Ysgol Ardudwy, Harlech and is Chair of Governors of Ysgol Llanbedr School

On her election as the authority’s chair, she said: “It is an honour and a privilege to be elected as Gwynedd Council Chairperson.

“During my year in the Chair, I will do my best to serve all of Gwynedd’s residents.”

Meanwhile, Cllr Edgar Wyn Owen, a fellow Plaid Cymru member for Waunfawr, was elected as Vice-Chair.