SHEAR class was on show during a recent event.

Hiraethog Speed Shearing saw over 700 people attend the event.

It was held for the second time at Wales’ highest pub, the Sportsmans Arms, near Bylchau.

Following the success of the event, held for the first time last year, this old age farming tradition bought the competitive streak out in some of Wales’ top shearers, many living locally in the Vale of Clwyd.

Elen Gwen Williams, from Groes, was one of the young organisers and she said: “We are extremely fortunate as a Young Farmers Club, here in Nantglyn, of the community support.

"Our Nantglyn YFC show committee supported our idea last year for hosting the event, and yet again this year.

"We couldn’t have done it without the support of second and third generation club members and friends in pulling the shearing together."

Elen added: “Sponsors came from local businesses to assist in ensuring we had great cash prizes on offer to entice competitors, and we weren’t let down by the shearers!

"We are grateful to sponsors, competitors, judges, onlookers and stewards for their commitment to the event, in addition to the team at the Sportsmans for allowing us to host the event at the Denbigh Moors pub field.”

Last year, the fundraising event presented cheques to the Brain Tumour Charity and Wales Air Ambulance.

Once finances have been ratified for this year’s Hiraethog Speed Shearing event, a cheque will again be presented to the Wales Air Ambulance, with a contribution going to the local Bro Aled appeal committee raising funds for the 2019 Conwy National Eisteddfod 2019, which will be held in Llanrwst.

Hiraethog Speed Shearing results:

Junior / intermediate class: 1, Elis Ifans (Betws Gwerfyl Goch); 2, Alun Hedd (Llanuwchllyn); 3, Ieuan Morris (Bronant, Groes); 4, Ifan Jones (Bala).

Senior / open class: 1, Gareth Evans (Grugor, Bylchau); 2, Gwion Evans (Grugor, Bylchau); 3, Ilan Jones (Clwt, Bylchau); 4, Jac Davies (Lon, Prion).

Veterans' class: 1, Dei Morris (Fferm Bronant, Groes); 2, Gary Pierce (Pentrefoelas); 3, Rhys Howatson (Llansannan).

Teams class: 1, Brwydwyr Bryntrillyn (Bob Fron Felen, Jac Lon, Guto Hughes); 2, Hiraethog Warriors; 3, Plas Pren Maffia.