PARLIAMENTARY candidates for the Clwyd South constituency have been confirmed ahead of the first winter general election since 1923.

Four candidates are hoping to defeat Susan Elan Jones, Welsh Labour MP, of Wrexham, who has held the seat from 2010. They include the Welsh Conservative Party’s Simon Robert Maurice Baynes, of Chirk, and Plaid Cymru’s Christopher James Allen, of Trefor, who received the second and third most votes respectively in the 2017 snap election.

New faces include the Welsh Liberal Democrats’ Calum Dafydd Davies, of Gwynedd, while the Brexit Party is set to contest the seat with Jamie David Adams, of Prestatyn.

Clwyd South straddles the counties of Denbighshire and Wrexham, including Llangollen, Corwen and the West of the Dee Valley, as well as Wrexham and surrounding suburbs such as Chirk and Ruabon which forms the most dense population area.

The bill enabling the election was voted by 438 MPs in favour and 20 against. The terms of Brexit are likely to dominate the Clwyd South debate as the Prime Minister vies to strengthen his hand in EU discussions by securing a majority government, after three failed attempts to do so.

In 2017 Welsh Labour’s Mrs Elan Jones received 50.7 per cent of Clwyd South votes at 19,002, followed by the Welsh Conservatives Party’s Mr Baynes with 14,646 votes (39.1 per cent) and Plaid Cymru candidate Mr Allen in third with 2,293 votes (6.1 per cent).

The Welsh Liberal Democrats received just two per cent of the vote while UKIP will not stand this time round.

The deadline to register to vote is November 25.

About 60 polling stations in the Clwyd South constituency will open for voting at 7am on December 12 and close at 10pm, with the result expected to be announced that night.