THERE has been a dramatic time for talented youngsters.

A succesful weekend was held at Galeri Caernarfon as members from all over the country competed at the Wales YFC drama finals in both Welsh and English.

Six clubs opened the competing on Saturday, with members grasping the opportunity having beat off stiff competition in their county rounds.

They were followed by seven clubs performing in the English competition on the Sunday with a large number of members having the opportunity to develop their performance skills, production, directing, scripting and backstage support.

The adjudicator in the Welsh competition was Ffion Dafis and she was pleased with the standard.

In her adjudication, she noted that she had enjoyed the event and was taken aback by the standard of the day and the talent shown by the members.

She went a step further by praising the members who were scripting their play on top of everything else and praised the writers from Pontsian YFC especially for their fantastic script.

During the awards ceremony the best actor award went to to Endaf Griffiths (Ceredigion YFC).

Best actress was awarded to Gwenno Griffiths (Uwchaled YFC) and the technical achievement award was presented to Cwmtirmynach YFC from the Meirionnydd federation.

The ceremony came to a close with the final results as follows:

1, Pontsian YFC, Ceredigion; 2, Rhosybol YFC, Ynys Mon; 3, Cwmtirmynach YFC, Meirionnydd; 4, Dyffryn Tanat YFC, Maldwyn; 5=, Uwchaled YFC, Clwyd and Llangadog YFC, Carmarthenshire.

On the Sunday, St David's Day celebrations were brought to a close with high praise from GODA judge Joe Riley for the professional organisation of the event by the Young Farmers.

Comparing them to many festivals he had been to over the years, he praised the high standards shown by the attention to detail; from the arrangements beforehand, to the design and professional finish of the programme, to the companies on stage performing.

During the awards ceremony, the best actor accolade was presented to Raiff Devlin, Pontfaen YFC, Brecknock.

Meanwhile, the best actress was awarded to Elen Hunt, Llys-y-Frân YFC, Pembrokeshire.

Elsewhere, the Paul Elkington technical achievement award was presented to Usk YFC, Gwent.

The final placings were as follows:

1, Llys-y-Frân YFC, Pembrokeshire; 2, Pontfaen YFC, Brecknock; 3, Gower YFC, Glamorgan; 4, Usk YFC, Gwent; 5, Rhayader YFC, Radnor; 6, Llandovery YFC, Carmarthenshire; 7, Dyffryn Tanat YFC, Montgomery.