DENBIGH-BASED Caer Clwyd were among those celebrating victories in the FAW Amateur Trophy on Saturday.

And the win was, arguably, even sweeter than for other clubs for a side which was only formed in 2020.

That made Clwyd's 2-1 victory at Bro Cernyw all the more impressive as it was their first-ever win in the Amateur Trophy.

Craig Lavery was the hero for his side as his double saw them through to round two.

Elsewhere in the cup competition, Rhyl 1879 impressed once more as they hammered St Asaph City 5-1.

Tom Cain was at the double, with Oliver Staveley, Chris Bennett and Tyler Joyce (via a penalty) all also on the scoresheet.

The ties throughout the North Wales region produced plenty of goals and drama.

Bontnewydd impressed as they beat higher league opponents Llanberis 4-0 and the same could be said for fellow tier five club Talysarn Celts who knocked tier four club Pwllheli out of the cup with a 3-2 victory.

Mold Alexandra were one of the biggest victors on the day as they humbled Penyffordd Lions with a 7-0 win.

Goalscorers for the Alex were Conner Kendrick (4), Rakim Newton and Joe Ormrod and an own goal by Penyffordd's Mark Gallagher also went in their favour.

Prestatyn Sports were 4-1 victors over Mochdre Sports, with Michael Jones (2), Ryan Brady and Simon Fawcett all finding the back of the net.

Meliden enjoyed a 2-1 win over Llandudno Junction. Liam Barlow fired the visitors in front early on before two goals in the last five minutes from Ashley New and Sam Haddon turned the tie on its head.

Llangollen Town and Rhos Aelwyd played out a 3-3 thriller before the former eventually went through on penalties.

Francis Thorn put Llangollen ahead in the first minute but James Rumsey and Dafydd Robertson turned the tie in Aelwyd's favour at half time.

The visitors were then 3-1 up through Scott Reeves on 47mins, but another goal from Thorn seconds later reduced the deficit.

Man of the Match Thorn then completed his hat-trick and the comeback for Llangollen on 70mins as they went on to win the spot-kicks.

Other results: Nefyn United 4-2 Waunfawr, Talysarn Celts 3-2 Pwllheli, Nantlle Vale 4-2 Llanrug United, Mountain Rangers 3-3 Mynydd Llandegai (Mynydd win on pens), Llangoed 2-7 Cefni, Llandyrnog United 2-4 Rhydymwyn, Hawarden Rangers 2-3 New Brighton Villa, Greenfield 4-1 Rhuddlan, Glan Conwy 3-1 Abergele, Gaerwen 2-5 Gwalchmai, Y Felinheli 4-0 Llanystumdwy, Penrhyndeud. 1-0 Bethesda, Llan'medd 4-1 Pentraeth, Llansannan 3-0 Rhyl Dragons