BANGOR 133-8

ST ASAPH 134-1

A CHAMPION display has strengthened St Asaph's hopes of claiming North Wales' top honour.

Bangor scooped last season's North Wales Cricket League Premier Division title, but they proved to be no match for the visiting Saints over the weekend.

In the tale of two cities it was St Asaph who came out on top by a thumping nine-wicket margin, cementing their second placed position in the standings behind Menai Bridge.

Saints' skipper Will Ryan told his opening bowlers to get limbered up after he won the pre-match toss.

St Asaph soon gained the upper hand and Bangor never really recovered after they were reduced to 20-2 and 45-3.

Doing the early damage was David North (3-23).

David Winter (66) and Matthew Haswell (12) attempted to turn things around for the home side, however a burst of three wickets for five runs strengthened the Saints' grip on proceedings.

Alex Baker (3-30) and Richard Marsh Evans (1-37) were in superb form with the ball.

In the end, Bangor's reduced 37 overs yielded 133-8, with Danny Ryan (1-11) also among the wickets.

Bangor's hopes of a fightback were boosted when St Asaph lost an early wicket during their reply.

Mathew Ryan was bowled by Chris Dawson (1-26) with just seven runs on the board.

That would prove to be the solitary bright spot for the home side, though, as an unbroken second wicket stand of 127 eased the Saints to a sixth success of the summer.

Nathanael Scott hit 11 boundaries during his knock of 74 not out, while there Will Ryan hit nine fours as he finished up undefeated on 48.

All of this meant that St Asaph reached a winning 134-1 in the 29th over, securing a 14-1 points split in the process.