ST ASAPH 162-9


DRAMATIC matches are coming thick and fast for Denbigh.

Seven days after somehow clawing their way to victory versus Connah's Quay, the lads from Ystrad Road were involved in another North Wales Cricket League Premier Division humdinger, this time at local rivals St Asaph.

On this occasion, it was the Saints who prevailed off the final ball of a dramatic match to secure a slender one-wicket triumph.

There was no sign of the drama to come as Denbigh skipper Harrison Jones opted to make first use of the Elwy Grove Park batting track after winning the toss.

Sam Lewis turned out to be the star of the show as Denbigh set 158-7 from their allotted 50 overs.

Batting at number four, Lewis top scored with a patient 51 not out from 105 deliveries.

Support was provided by the likes of Tom Schrimshaw (18), Harrison Jones (17), Alec Lewis (15 not out), Joe Clayton (14) and Gerallt Lyall (12).

Mathew Ryan was superb with the ball for St Asaph, finishing up with a 4-19 haul from 12 tight overs.

The remaining wickets to fall went the way of Andrew Bellis (1-21), Jason Foulkes (1-29) and Paul Fleming (1-46).

Targeting a triumph to maintain their hopes of achieving a top-two finish this season, the Saints' response was not without its trials and tribulations.

Despite the efforts of Nathanael Scott (35), Will Ryan (26), Jason Foulkes (20), Mathew Ryan (13) and Duncan Midgley (10), St Asaph found themselves being reduced to 95-5 and 133-8.

Harrison Jones (3-24), Jack Griffiths (2-32) and Alec Lewis (2-32) appeared to have placed the visitors on the verge of victory, but crucial lower order efforts edged the Saints home.

Late knocks from Richard Marsh Evans (18), Elliot Morris (13 not out) and Andrew Bellis (10) led the hosts to a winning 162-9 off the final delivery.

Joe Clayton (1-24) and Stuart Griffiths (1-24) bagged the remaining wickets for Denbigh.