BRYMBO 174-4

(Brymbo won by six wickets)

IT turned out to be a losing weekend for Denbigh in their rain reduced contest at home to Brymbo.

The visitors were seeking victory to maintain their hopes of securing this season's North Wales Cricket League Premier Division title.

And they moved up to second in the standings on the back of their six-wicket triumph.

Due to rain, Denbigh's innings was reduced to 49 overs, while Brymbo were given 43 overs to reach their lowered target of 169.

Denbigh skipper Harrison Jones won the pre-match toss and his message back to the changing room was for home opening partner Gerallt Lyall to don his pads.

The duo put on 21 for the first wicket and the stand came to a halt when Jones was dismissed by the impressive Ben Roberts for 10.

Things were looking decidedly tricky for Denbigh when they then lost a couple of quick wickets to be reduced to 34-3.

However, Daniel Nixon joined Gerallt Lyall at the crease and the pair dragged Denbigh back into the contest.

They put together a fourth wicket stand of 65, which drew to a halt when Lyall was dismissed by Gareth Pugh for 34.

Nixon would be a constant as Denbigh tried to establish a competitive total after this.

He top scored with an excellent 64 as the home side were bowled out for 184 with one over of their innings remaining.

Middle and lower order support was supplied by the likes of Jon Eccles (14), Andy Thomas (12) and Stuart Griffiths (11).

The star performer with the ball from Brymbo's perspective was Ben Roberts, who finished up with figures of 5-32 from his 11 overs.

The remaining wickets were shared by Gareth Pugh (2-42) and Daniel Parry (2-54).

Denbigh were soon handed a reason to be cheerful when it was the turn of the visitors to bat.

Jack Griffiths (1-31) bagged the early wicket of opener Greg King, caught behind by Joe Clayton.

All of the remaining Brymbo batsmen reached double figures as their chase became a successful one.

With David Blackwell (44 not out), James Claybrook (34), Joss Roberts (39) and Connor Davies (22 not out) all in good form, Brymbo were able to reach a winning 174-4 with almost four overs to spare.

Harrison Jones (1-32), Sam Lewis (1-36) and Andy Clarke (1-38) were among the Denbigh wicket takers during the second portion of the afternoon.