THERE has been joy for Vale of Clwyd table tennis players.

The title race for the top honour in Division One of the Llandudno and District Table Tennis League went down to the wire.

In the last league match, Trefnant-based Trinity A beat Amlwch A 7-3 to ensure that both teams finished on 192 points.

However, it's Trinity A who have been crowned the new champions by virtue of the fact they did not lose a league match all season. Abhishek Bathula was the star player and in securing his maximum, he has also landed the individual honours.

Bathula was pushed hardest by Paul Collins, coming from 2-1 down to beat him 11-5 in the fifth.

The other five-game encounter witnessed Keith Williams winning out against Ken Connor, also 11-5 in the fifth.

Trinity A won the doubles, but the doubles title remains with Amlwch A, who won one more battle over the course of the season.

Rhyl B were crowned Division Two champions with two matches still to play.

That was despite the fact they lost their first match of the season, 6-4 to second-placed Craig-y-Don B.

The man of the match here was Ady Waugh, who landed his maximum by beating Norman Stagg 11-9 in the fifth.

Previously, the champions brushed aside bottom-of-the-table Y Morfa B 10-0 to ensure a 128-point total.

Amlwch C are favourites for the runners-up berth, being only one point behind Craig-y-Don B, but significantly they have one match in hand.

Following the islanders' 6-4 victory over Craig-y-Don A, they can now only reach 127 points, ensuring that Rhyl B have won the Division Two title.

In the final of the Handicap Cup, Rhyl B were set the task of averaging 35 points per game in a 40-point format versus Trinity C.

Steve Lowe beat both Josh Gilmore and Eddie Chan, then John Hughes beat Eddie, ensuring the advantage was with Rhyl B with two games to play.

However, David Daniels beat Steve 40-15 and Josh beat John 40-16 to ensure that Trinity C won the Handicap Cup by 12 points.


Handicap Cup final: Rhyl B 440 Trinity C 452.

President’s Trophy semi-finals: Trinity B 568 Y Morfa B 519, Craig–y Don A 417 Police B 510.

Division 1: Police A 0 Trinity A 10, Y Morfa A 9 Amlwch B 1, Trinity C 0 Amlwch A 10, Trinity A 7 Amlwch A 3, Y Morfa A 8 Trinity B 2, Conwy A 9 Amlwch B 1, Rhyl A 3 Trinity C 7.

Division 2: Craig-y-Don A 4 Amlwch C 6, Y Morfa B 0 Rhyl B 10, Craig-y-Don B 6 Rhyl B 4, Amlwch C 8 Police B 2.