VALE of Clwyd bragging rights belong to the lads from Ystrad Road.

Denbigh claimed the derby honours over the weekend courtesy of their North Wales Cricket League Premier Division triumph at home to St Asaph.

The win keeps Denbigh well in the mix to secure this season's Premier Division crown and they're level on points at present with frontrunners Bangor.

It was Denbigh skipper Harrison Jones who won the pre-match toss and he opted to spend the opening portion of the afternoon in the field.

What a sound decision this turned out to be and the Saints lost opened Nathanael Scott for a duck.

Danny Ryan (39), Mathew Ryan (21) and captain William Ryan (19) looked to improve the situation for the visitors, but Denbigh maintained the upper hand.

Sam Lewis (2-7), Harrison Jones (2-19) and Robert Schrimshaw (2-27) helped to ensure that St Asaph were bowled out for 129 in 46 overs.

Also among the wickets for the hosts were Andy Clarke (1-19) and Jack Griffiths (1-23), while wicket-keeper Joe Clayton secured a trio of dismissals.

There was a similar story after tea, with Denbigh losing an opener without troubling the scorers.

Andy Thomas was dismissed by Jason Foulkes for a duck, but there was solidity among the remainder of Denbigh's top order.

Opener Gerallt Lyall contributed 18 to the chase, while Sam Lewis (35 not out), Joe Clayton (34) and Harrison Jones (29) guided the hosts to a winning 130-4 with 11 overs to spare.

Danny Ryan (3-40) and Jason Foulkes (1-55) helped St Asaph to pick up a couple of points on the day.

Denbigh, who claimed their fifth win of the season, picked up 13 points from their efforts.