AT the midway point of Saturday's contest, Ruthin appeared to be on their way to ending Conwy's unbeaten record this season.

The visitors went into the contest boasting seven wins from their previous nine matches to lead the way in Division One of the North Wales Cricket League.

Conwy's proud record was under threat when they were bowled out for just 93 at Memorial Park Fields, but the league leaders came storming back after tea to eventually record a slender 16-run margin of success.

It was Conwy who won the pre-match toss and they opted to make first use of the batting track.

This didn't turn out to be the greatest of decisions, though, as Ruthin enjoyed a promising start to the encounter.

Harry Pooler picked up the first wicket to fall and when Sion Hughes dismissed Daniel Davies, Conwy found themselves on 19-2.

Although wickets continued to fall at regular intervals, Conwy did manage to reach 90-6.

However, the end was nigh and Ruthin claimed the final four wickets for only three runs to leave their high-flying opponents in a spot of bother.

Jonathon James Davies (31) was the top scorer as Conwy were bundled out for 93 in the 37th over.

Doing the damage with the ball were Sandeep Anantharaman (5-22), Harry Pooler (2-18), Llyr Williams (2-29) and Sion Hughes (1-17).

The ball remained mightier than the bat when it was Ruthin's turn to respond.

After a tough start to the innings, Michael Parton and Murray Whitehead attempted to improve Ruthin's mood with a 20-run stand for the third wicket.

Parton top scored with 16 and Whitehead made 11, but no other batsman was able to reach double figures and Ruthin were bowled out for 77 in the 30th over.

Shaun Davies (4-17) and Gareth Thomas (3-7) were the main bowlers as Conwy claimed the bulk of the points in an 11-4 split.