RUTHIN 159-9


VICTORY for Ruthin on Saturday would effectively have assured their North Wales Cricket League Division One status.

However, despite falling to a narrow defeat at home to Abergele, the Memorial Park Fields side remain in a decent position to preserve their status.

Looking to pull themselves out of the bottom-two in the standings, Abergele made first use of the batting track after they won the toss.

A 48-run stand for the first wicket set the visiting side on the way to a competitive 174-7 from their 50 overs.

The opening partnership was compiled by Ben Garnett (15) and Karl Higgins (25), while there were also some decent efforts from the likes of Wasim Ali (31 not out) and Edward Rooney (31).

Jac Evans was the pick of the Ruthin attack as he claimed 4-35 from his 11 overs.

The remaining wickets to tumble were shared by Gwyndaf Hughes (2-30) and Sion Hughes (1-15).

Ruthin got within 16 runs of success by the time their 50 overs drew to a close.

Josh Duckworth top scored with 34 batting at number five, while the top order trio of Jac Evans (17), Duncan Roberts (12) and Sion Hughes (10) all managed to reach double figures.

Skipper Rhys Hilditch added 15 to the chase, while there were important runs in the lower order from Jamie Hulse (18 not out) and Ted Evans (10).

All of this meant that Ruthin reached 159-9.

Doing the damage with the ball from Abergele's perspective were David Moulson (4-26) and Owen Lynam (2-12).