CONWY 144-2


THERE will be no last day drama for Ruthin to endure this season.

The Memorial Park Fields side concluded their campaign with an eight-wicket loss at the hands of Conwy, who claim the North Wales Cricket League Division One title.

While Ruthin were promoted in dramatic fashion 12 months ago, they can put their feet up for the final weekend of the season with their Division One status assured.

Abergele face Carmel in a relegation decider on Saturday and while each of them can overtake Ruthin, it's impossible for both to do so.

Turning back to Saturday and Ruthin opted to make first use of the batting track after winning the toss.

The star of the show during the early portion of the afternoon was opener Dafydd Roberts, who top scored with a fine 53.

With support coming from Michael Parton (14), Murray Whitehead (13) and Stephen Bryan-Jones (11), Ruthin made 140 all out.

Stan Senior (4-14) and Graham Boase (3-29) were the main bowlers.

In reply, Conwy reached a winning 144-2 in the 39th over.

Leading the chase for the visitors were Anthony Thorp (46) and Gavin Mart (30 not out).

Wickets were claimed by Josh Duckworth (1-23) and Llyr Williams (1-34).