THREE members of staff on the Rhug Estate picked up national medals on their home ground at the weekend as members of Prestatyn Running Club.

The club hosted the annual British Masters’ cross-country championships and the meeting proved a huge success, earning praise from runners from all parts of the country.

The testing course was at its best, offering a variety of terrain including flat, even grass, a couple of hills, plenty of mud and even a stream to cross.

The only individual winner from North Wales was Prestatyn’s super-vet Roger Harrison-Jones, who had a battle with Bolton’s David Tomlinson before beating him by a single second in the M80 class.

With Mike Davis and David Hughes, Roger also picked a gold medal in the M65 team competition.

Rhug’s Louise McNutt joined Helen Ashworth and Jo Hoppes in winning silver in the 35-44 category and her colleagues Teleri Jones and Sally Williams did likewise in the L45-54 class.

The fourth Rhug worker taking part was Iain Russell, who faced a quality field in the men’s race and showed admirable determination in conquering the tough course.

Lord and Lady Newborough were present to offer their support and he proudly presented his employees with their medals.

Results: M35: 4, Rob Alexander 35.21. M40: 9, Steve Skates 31.35. M45: 11, James Rogers 40.55; 12, Iain Russell 57.34. M70: 13, Mike Davis 35.48. M80: 1, Roger Harrison-Jones; 5, David Hughes 46.07. L35: 8, Helen Ashworth 30.24; 9, Jo Hoppes 30.31; 10, Louise McNutt 40.01. L45: 12, Teleri Jones 37.48; 13, Karen Roberts 49.03. L50: 8, Julia Evans 36.47; 9, Sally Williams 43.04. L55: 8, Julie Evans.

There was a smaller turnout than usual on Sunday for the fifth Borders Road-Running League fixture at Wrexham, with a couple of members turning out after racing at Rhug.

The full results were not known at the time of going to press, but the placings were: 13, Steve Forsyth; 47, Alex Ryder; 58, Leon Bagnall; 63, Andy Bromley; 86, Matty Smith; 97, Will Williams; 116, James Rogers; 133, Sian Beck; 153, Steve Weedman; 164, Ben Harrison; 167, Tony Benton; 170, Joy Hickman; 178, Steve Brown; 202, Nicola Eatherington; 217, Alan Jones; 218, Arwel Jones; 226, Gareth Hughes; 240, Liz Martin; 245 Helen Alefounder; 249, Cara Jones; 253, Mike Davis; 261, Steve Hatfield.

Recent recruit Ann Claire Jones had another cracking run in the first of the Snowdonia Trail series at Aber Falls, finishing 28th overall and the eighth lady in a field of 170.

Her time was 49.15.

Parkrun results.

Nova: 5, Steve Stocker 20.39; 12, Steve Weedman 22.03; 14, Benjamin Lines 22.29 (pb); 40, Andrew Aitken 26.01; 65, Stuart Quayle 29.48; 77, Claire Walliker 30.38 (pb); 98, Debbie Weedman 30.51; 85, Linda Friar 31.42 (pb); 101, Linda McKeown 35.25.

Conwy: 70, Martin Gill 24.11; 128, Paul Brandrick 27.21.

Holywell: 8, Matty Smith; 33, Steve Brown 26.40.

The names of Karen Roberts and Julie Evans were omitted from the list of club members who competed in the Aldi Chester 10k.

Both crossed the line in 74 minutes exactly.

The club’s annual meeting will be held on Thursday, March 19 at the Ffrith, when members will be able their say in the running of the club.