BALA TOWN captain Chris Venables has been included in the official Cymru Premier Team of the Season for 2019/20.

The squad, chosen through votes cast for players by all 12 managers in Wales' top flight, also includes new Bala signings Alex Ramsay and Nathan Peate, who recently arrived from Caernarfon Town and Cefn Druids respectively, as substitutes.

Venables, howver, was selected in the starting eleven, linking up top with Connah's Quay Nomads man Michael Wilde.

The Bala skipper enjoyed a fine campaign during the curtailed 2019/20 season which saw the club finish in third and secure a Europa League qualifying spot.

On a personal level, he received the Golden Boot for finishing as the Cymru Premier top scorer with 22 goals in just 26 matches – four ahead of The New Saints’ prolific striker Greg Draper who finished as runner-up on 18.

It is the fourth time that Venables has scooped the prize in the top flight, having previously won it on three occasions whilst playing for Aberystwyth Town between 2013-14 and 2015-16, netting 24, 28 and 20 goals to top the list.

By now, Venables has made more than 400 appearances in Wales’ top-flight, scoring nearly 200 goals. He has also been named WPL (now JD Cymru Premier) Player of the Season in 2013-14 and 2014-15.

The 34-year-old started out at Shrewsbury Town before stints at Welshpool, Caersws, Aberystwyth Town and Llanelli. He made the move to Maes Tegid with Bala in 2016.

The full 2019/20 Cymru Premier Team of the Season is as follows: Lewis Brass (Connah's Quay), Danny Holmes (Connah's Quay), George Horan (Connah's Quay), Priestley Farquharson (Connah's Quay), Chris Marriott (TNS), Jamie Mullan (TNS), Callum Morris (Connah's Quay), Aeron Edwards (TNS), Ryan Brobbel (TNS), Mike Wilde (Connah's Quay), Chris Venables (Bala).

Subs: Alex Ramsay (Caernarfon Town), Nathan Peate (Cefn Druids), Chris Hugh (Barry), Clayton Green (Barry), Darren Thomas (Caernarfon) and Greg Draper (TNS)