DENBIGH Town Football Club is among the oldest in Wales.

The club was founded in 1880 and became members of the Welsh Senior League in 1893.

The reds then joined the North Wales Coast League in 1900 and returned in 1906 with the club changing its name to Denbigh United in 1908 when Denbigh Church Guild Football Club was also established.

However, both disappeared in 1910 with only Denbigh United rejoining the league two years later.

The club returned to the North Wales Coast League following the end of World War One. In 1924, it won the prestigious Welsh Amateur Cup, beating the renowned Lovells Athletic in the final.

The club also entered the short lived Welsh Football League in 1932 as Denbigh Juniors before changing their name to Denbigh Town the following season with the founding of Denbigh Mental Hospital Football Club.

Denbigh Town Football Club joined the Welsh League North in 1949, winning the second division in their first season. In 1958, they joined the Wrexham Area League and won their first title in 1973 and dominated during that decade, retaining the championship in 1974, 1975 and 1976.

Denbigh Town stepped up to the Welsh Alliance in 1995 and won the title the following season to join the Cymru Alliance.

In 2016, the club played in its first national cup final since the 1920s, losing the Welsh League Cup final 2-0 to TNS. Two years later, Denbigh achieved their highest ever league position, ending runners-up in the Cymru Alliance before the departure of manager Eddie Maurice-Jones culminated in relegation to the Welsh Alliance the following season.

In 2019/20, the club finished as runners-up in Welsh Alliance One (tier three), with top scorer Jacob Walker a particular stand out, as he bagged 39 goals in all competitions.

In 2020/21, the club will play in the new look North West league in tier three, where they will come up agains the likes of Porthmadog and Mold Alexandra.