BALA TOWN were defeated by The New Saints on the final day of the 20/21 JD Cymru Premier season.

Manager Colin Caton made five changes to his side who travelled to Park Hall on Saturday.

Anthony Stephens, Kieran Smith, Antony Kay and Lassana Mendes returned to the starting XI, with Harri Lloyd also starting in goal.

The Saints went into the match knowing that any slip ups from Connah's Quay Nomads, and a win for themselves, would result in them winning the JD Cymru Premier title.

And Anthony Limbrick's side were on top right from the off in pursuit of that glory. It took just ten minutes for them to find the opener.

Midfielder Ben Clark, who has been in great form throughout the campaign, took the ball around Bala keeper Lloyd before tapping the ball home into the empty net.

The Lakesiders had a chance to equalise soon after but the chance was squandered by Nathan Peate.

The Saints were tested just 20mins in to the tie when Ryan Harrington was sent off after bringing Kieran Smith down in a 'last man' situation. That could have made things difficult for TNS but they stood strong.

In the second half, they took control of the game when Adrian Cieslewicz scored just nine minutes in. The Polish attacker finished well from the left hand side.

Just after the hour mark, Will Evans went close to grabbing a goal back with a brilliant effort from around 25 yards out and, late on, Smith saw a shot saved by the foot of Paul Harrison as Bala just couldn't find themselves a goal.

It ended 2-0 to the Saints who, after Nomads won 2-0 against Penybont, finished as league runners-up for a second successive season.Bala Town finished third and will play in the qualifying rounds of the new UEFA Conference League in 21/22.