RUTHIN Town players will have a tricky decision to make later this month.

A trio of Town players have been chosen by boss Guy Handscombe for his Cymru North squad that will take on Cymru South.

The winners of the two-legged tie will represent Wales in the UEFA Regions' Cup.

Jamie Cumming, Osian Davies and Matty Hill are the trio who will have a decision to make, as the second leg at Llansawel's Old Road Welfare Ground on May 15 is on the same day as Ruthin Town's NEWFA Cup final versus Buckley Town.

The first leg will be played at Denbigh Town's Central Park next Sunday, May 8.

On the selection process, former Corwen manager Handscombe admitted: "It's been really, really tough, I can't lie from that.

"Obviously the team came out last week, but this has been prepared in the last two months."

While Handscombe was over in Baku last week, it came to light that Ben Lockley was ineligible as he had played one game in the Cymru Premier League for Flint in the past.

"We have called up Cai Powell Roberts from Holyhead," he added.

"The rules are the rules and I had other players on stand-by.

"I have been making some phone calls!

"It's been tougher to organise than I thought it would be."

The Cymru North XI played Caernarfon Town in a friendly on Friday evening, while this week will be a busy one full of training sessions.

The squad is at Wrexham's Colliers Park on Tuesday and Thursday, with a training session at Denbigh Town's Central Park on Saturday morning.

"I have coached players at different clubs. Obviously I've got a list of players I know I could never ask because of their previous history.

"From the initial squad, a few of them had to pull out because of holidays booked and weddings."

The Ardal North West League has games on both May 7 and 14 and Handscombe added: "I can't ask players to play on Saturday and Sunday.

"The North East Wales FA have put on their cup final the same day as our second leg.

"The lads have been superb in training.

"We have had three sessions in Ruthin and I couldn't have asked any more.

"It's just the logistics around the elements we can't control.

"We are controlling what we can control.

"We're trying to build cohesion with players who haven't played together.

"There's a real buzz about it, but you're potentially asking four players if they want to play for their club in a cup final or their region.

"It's not fair on these players to be put in this position."

Cymru North squad: Rob Dascalu (Llanuwchllyn); Cameron Darling (Buckley Town); Jake Cooke (Holywell Town); Harry Lockley (Conwy Borough); Chris Cathrall (Guilsfield); Jordan Carrington (Colwyn Bay); Sam Downey (Colwyn Bay); Jamie Cumming (Ruthin Town); Osian Davies (Ruthin Town); Liam Morris (Holyhead Hotspur); Matty Hill (Ruthin Town); Dylan Allshorn (Holywell Town); Luke Wiltshire (Holywell Town); Khyam Wyton (Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant); Ben Lockley (Conwy Borough); Meilir Williams (Conwy Borough); Jamie Hyne (Guilsfield); Callum Parry (Llanrwst United).