WALES National County (North) came up just short in a thrilling contest at home to Staffordshire Development.

St Asaph's Elwy Grove Park hosted the encounter in overcast conditions on Wednesday, with Staffordshire conducting a well-times chase to win by four wickets.

Batting first after winning the toss, the North Wales team were able to set 244 for nine from their 50 overs.

Brymbo's James Claybrook struck 32 at the top of the order, while the top scorer was St Asaph's Duncan Midgley, with 47.

Other good efforts came from the likes of skipper Will Ryan (37) and Joe Howell, with 33 not out from 21 deliveries, while the home tally was boosted by 44 extras.

James Cox (3-41) and Sam Atkinson (2-27) were the pick of the bowlers.

Staffordshire's reply got off to a terrific start, with Tom Moulton (91) and Matthew Morris (67) putting on 147 for the first wicket.

Two quick wickets from Matthew Humphreys (2-31) dragged the hosts back into the contest, with St Asaph's Jason Foulkes (2-59) also impressing.

There were also wickets for Chris Ellwood and Owen Reilly, but Staffordshire got to a winning 248 for six with four deliveries to spare.

It's a big week for Saints' all-rounder Foulkes, who has been included in the Wales NC squad for this Sunday's home 50-over one day trophy meeting with Buckinghamshire on Sunday.

The match will be played at Port Talbot and it follows on from Foulkes recently making his debut for the Wales T20 side.

Whilst Wales came up just short of qualifying for T20 finals day, skipper Sam Pearce is raring to go for Sunday.

He told the Cricket Wales website: "Whilst we were happy with how we went in this competition last year, it doesn't really count for anything now.

"This is a new start for every team, us included and we will need to hit the ground running from ball one.

"We learnt some really good lessons throughout the T20 competition, the main one being not to look too far ahead, and just take it each game as it comes.

"If we do that, and do the basics as well as we are capable then the rest should look after itself."

Wales NC squad from: TR Bevan (St Fagans), SJ Reingold (Neath/Stanmore), CR Brown (Lansdown), L Machado (Neath), MJ Bevans (Newport), CL Herring (Pontarddulais), SJ Pearce (Bridgend), TD Phillips (Cardiff), SJ Jardine (Neath), JS Foulkes (St Asaph), RD Edwards (Neath), KA Bull (Potterne).