NO fewer than four presentation nights were held to mark a successful season.

Ruthin Town Youth FC staged the presentation events to congratulate the various age group teams.

Following two years and more of disruption as a consequence of the covid pandemic, it was brilliant for the club to be able to hold normal events.

All seemed to be enjoyed hugely by all who attended, especially the young footballers!

Senior players Osian Davies, Huw Thomas, Steffan Dolben, Danny Goldston, Alfie McKay and Llyr Morris presented awards on different evenings and spoke to the youngsters about their experiences playing mini, junior and youth football and how it’s helped them to get to where they are now.

There was a common thread that ran through virtually all their accounts and that was the importance of listening and working hard!

Last season both Ruthin under 12s under 13s won their league championships, with the U15s finishing second along with winning the NEWFA Cup, a feat matched by the under 16s.

So, all in all, it was a very satisfactory season.

In addition to the individual awards, the perennial cup presented to the club by Arnold Edwards (Charlie) and is annually awarded to the under 16 player who is considered to have contributed most over the five year period as a youth player was won by the highly respected Tom Gwynn Griffiths.

To cap off his time as a youth player, he scored a brilliant hat-trick in the U16 NEWFA Cup final.

Club chairman Wynne Davies paid tribute to all the people that contribute so much towards the running of the club in such a professional manner.

Particular tributes were paid to the high degree of efficiency and excellence of treasurer Gareth Griffiths, secretary Llinos Goldston, vice-chairman Richard Goldston and the club safeguarding officer Alan Roberts.

All the volunteer managers and coaches were thanked for their devotion to duty, which includes attending many courses in addition to managing, coaching and training the respective squads and many more tasks!

Wyn Thomas was awarded the Owen Roberts Memorial Shield having played a significant role in supporting the U14 blues, plus playing a key role in quickly covering the Ruthin Town FC clubhouse roof that blew off during one of the winter storms.

Wyn then arranged and helped to install a new permanent roof, in addition to sorting out new goals for two new nine-a-side pitches.

Owen Roberts, fondly known as “Mr O” or “Owen bach”, was a founder member of the club 36 years ago.

The memorial shield is presented annually to a person who’s made a significant contribution to the club.

The main sponsors were thanked for their tremendous continued and many for their long term support, which is hugely appreciated by the club as they allow the boys to be immaculately turned out, which is something that all at the club are proud to be able to do.

Sponsors are: Rubbertech; Blodyn Aur; Shorecliffe; S P Kell Accountants; Williams Homes (Bala); Potens; Trefor Jones Menswear.

Other thanks were given to referees, particularly Glyn Hughes and Barry Roberts.

Special thanks this year went to Rhys Jones, the neighbouring farmer, who allowed the club to use his field as an overflow car park for large tournaments.

All the supportive parents and young footballers who represented the club week in and week out throughout the season were also thanked, as well as the wives, partners and families who support all the individuals who carry out the demanding frontline work.

Award winners:

U12s: Players' player, Moi Davies; Manager's player, Kody Roberts; Most improved player, Jake Thompson; Clubman, Osian Emanuel.

U13s: Players' player, Charlie Jackson; Manager's player, Daniel Jones; Most improved player, Bili Tranmer; Clubman, Iwan Glover.

U14s: Players' player, Efan Hughes; Manager's player, Elis Vaughan Jones; Most improved player, Ed Short; Clubman, Leo Jones.

U14s Blues: Players' player, Peter Baldry; Manager's player, Isac Gwyn; Most improved player, Will Morris; Clubman, Will Hughes.

U15s: Players' player, Gabriel Hinchcliffe; Manager's player, Gruffudd Hughes-Owen; Most improved player, Joseph Badder; Clubman, Leo Jones.

U16s: Players' player, Sion Tudor; Manager's player, Gwydion Roberts / Luke Molmans; Most improved player, Gwion Williams; Clubman, Iwan Hughes.