DENBIGH Harrier Shaun Hughes came to the fore during a spot of weekend action.

Sunday saw a double bill of races in Denbigh organised by Bespoke Fitness, with 16 Denbigh Harriers taking part.

In the hilly 5k race, new member Elizabeth Hayes won the first female prize with over 90 seconds to spare.

It was good to see Hannah McDonnell back to running after a long injury absence.

Meanwhile, the 10k race saw a magnificent winning run from Shaun Hughes, who is in the middle of marathon training.

His time of 36.11 is equivalent to a much faster time on a flat course and the Denbigh course climbs over 200 metres.

There was a superb second place in the women’s race for Rhian Griffiths-Jones in 46.36.

Mel Morris had a very strong run of her F40 category win and just behind her was Mari Wynne Williams in a new personal best.

The evergreen Bob Neale won the M60 category, leaving a swathe of younger runners in his wake.

Denbigh 5k: 8, Elizabeth Hayes (1st female) 27.32; 13, Andrew Morris 29.39; 15, Hannah McDonnell 30.21.

Denbigh 10k: 1 Shaun Hughes 36.11; 5, Daniel Jones 40.22; 12, Philip Hayes 43.42; 17, Mathew Jones 44.40; 18, Rhian Griffiths-Jones (2nd female) 46.46; 20, Melina Morris (1st F40) 47.09; 28, Mari Wynne Williams 48.41; 32, Ian Jones 50.10; 40, Bob Neale (1st M60) 50.59; 44, Jack Williams 51.36; 62, Peter Lester-Owen 54.12; 63, Sali Powell 54.14; 139, Jessica Jones 1-14.31.

On Saturday, Chris Baldwin was the sole Denbigh Harrier to take part in the undulating Brynkinalt 10k trail race.

Despite a fast first half of the race that saw him suffering a little at the end he held onto 27th place in 59.45.

Also on Saturday, the Denbigh Harriers organised Run for Fun course culminated in the Conwy parkrun.

This 10-week course trains runners of all abilities to a level where they can comfortably complete a 5k run.

The course is organised and coached by a dedicated group of qualified run leaders.

Results: 16, David Baugh 20.17; 118, Robert Parry 26.47; 129, Ian Jones 27.20; 130, Sioned Griffiths 27.21; 131, Sali Powell 27.21; 136, Roger Snaith 27.37; 165, Andrew Morris 29.27; 208, Gwenno Edwards 31.37; 210, Dawn Marshall 31.39; 214, Menai Baugh 31.51.

Bodelwyddan parkrun: 14, Tony Benton 23.27.