THE Royal Forestry Society’s (RFS) Excellence in Forestry awards will be back in Wales in 2020 for the first time in five years.

Urging owners and managers of woods of all sizes and those running woodland education and learning projects to take part, the RFS North Wales divisional chair John Roe says: “At a time when we hear a lot about the need to plant new trees to combat climate change, it is equally important that we manage our existing woods to optimise their benefits for climate change, rural economies and health and wellbeing.

“We know there are many fine woods and forests in North Wales and we want to be able to shout about them.

"These awards will throw a spotlight on those who are achieving the very best, helping to share and promote best practice.”

There are five categories:

The Duke of Cornwall’s Award for Resilient Multipurpose Forestry.

Silviculture Award for plantings than are less than 30 years old.

Small and Farm Woodland.

Community Woodland.

Education and learning award.

The deadline for entries is March 3 and judging will be held in May.

An awards event will be held in July.

Full details are available from