A NEW chairman of Denbighshire County Council has been elected following the sudden death of councillor Pete Prendergast.

Cllr Prendergast, the previous chair of the council, died on September 22.

At a full council meeting in Ruthin, elected cllr Peter Scott (St Asaph West) was elected chair and councillor Diane King (Rhyl South West) was elected vice chair of the authority.

Cllr Prendergast served as chair of the council for the 2017 – 2018 municipal year and was re-elected as chair in May of this year. During the meeting, the newly appointed chair, cllr Scott, invited lead members of the groups to pay tributes to cllr Prendergast.

These were led by the leader of the council, cllr Jason McLellan, who said: “I had known Pete for a number of years and when he was elected it was quite clear how dedicated he was to his role as councillor in representing his community and speaking up for his residents.

"Pete worked really well with the community groups in Rhyl and on his ward.”

Cllr Prendergast’s consort during his tenure, cllr King said: “He was one of those people you felt honoured to have in your life. His willingness to help others defined him as a person. The fact that Pete had so many close friends is a testament to the genuine, kind person that he was. He was so proud when he was elected chair of Denbighshire County Council, not once, but twice.

“Pete came from humble beginnings, and he possessed an innate quality that he could relate to people at all levels and in any situation. This enabled him to work tirelessly for his community as a Town Councillor first of all, and then as a County Councillor.  On a personal level I have benefitted immensely from Pete’s support, commitment, and friendship over the last six years. I was so proud to have him as my friend.”


Cllr Scott brought the tributes to a close and said: “You will all have your memories of Pete, but from my point of view, he was a gentleman who put everyone before himself. He was a wonderful man and I’m certain he will be sadly missed by everyone who knew him.”

Tributes were also paid by councillors Huw Hilditch-Roberts, Hugh Irving, Delyth Jones, and Martyn Hogg.

Cllr Scott asked the council chamber to stand and observe a period of silent reflection in gratitude and in memory of cllr Prendergast.

This was observed by all present with the utmost respect.