THE match and handicap chairman, which is a voluntary position, does an amazing job at Denbigh Golf Club.

Don Walmsley, a retired naval engineer, oversees more competitions than any other club in the area.

As well as being a competitor, he produces all the results in a most efficient fashion, organises the knock out competitions as well as answering an array of rules queries which regularly arise.

No doubt there is a host of other unsung heroes amongst the array of clubs within the town and throughout amateur sport and competitors are always, whatever the club, indebted and appreciative of their work and assistance.

Arwel Wyn Jones won the second monthly medal competition of the year with a nett round of 65, a shot clear of Kyle Morris and Geraint Williams, first and second in the bronze division.

Peris Jones, a further stroke back, topped the silver division, ahead of Darren Foulkes (68 nett).

READ: So many successes for Denbigh golfers to celebrate

Other results:

Stableford (April 28): Winner, Roger E Jones 43pts. Silver: 1, Paul Mazurek (16) 43; 2, Andrew Whitton (14) 40. Bronze: 1, Deiniol Jones (20) 43; 2, Gwilym Pierce (20) 42.

May Day Holiday stableford: Winner, Tom Wilcox Jones (27) 42pts. Silver: 1, Nigel Roxburgh (7) 40; 2, Arthur Jones (10) 39; 3, Andrew O’Loughlin (9) 37. Bronze: 1, Desmond Davies (21) 41; 2, Gethin Edwards (18) 41; 3, Nathan Shakes (22) 38.

Ladies results:

Australian Spoons: 1, Ceri Parry & Steph Brooks 38pts; 2, Elinor O-Frimpong & Pauline Evans 34; 3, Jean Gwynn & Chris Jones 34.

May Day Mixed-Waltz: 1, Les & Ellie Wilde, Paul Roberts and Abigail W Jones 85pts; 2, Sam & Eleanor O-Frimpong, Ken Jones and Sue Baggaley 81; 3, Alan & Stephanie Brooks, Roy Tickle and Tracey Ellis 81.

Meanwhile, the first major competition of the new season has been held at Ruthin Pwllglas Golf Club.

The Hill Cup Bogey competition was staged over the weekend, with 65 players taking part.

Coming out on top was Phil Tyrer with an excellent bogey score of +5.

Division One category winner was Geoffrey Hinchcliffe, with his score of +3, the same score as runner-up Catherine Parton, with Gareth Humphreys (+2) third in the division.

In Division Two, the category winner was Neil Ll Roberts (+4), ahead of Joe Jones (+4) and Phil Corbett (+3).