FOURTEEN more points will ensure that Denbigh return to the Premier Division of the North Wales Cricket League as champions.

It seems strange that the Division One title remains up for grabs considering the fact Denbigh have won 20 of their 21 matches this summer.

However, second-placed Halkyn have been fierce rivals in the chase for the championship and they remain two points adrift of the leaders with one match left to play.

To end the season this Saturday, Denbigh will welcome Buckley to Ystrad Road, while Halkyn have home advantage against Hawarden Park, who are guaranteed to secure a third-placed finish.

Denbigh travelled to Connah's Quay over the weekend looking to bounce back from their maximum points mauling at the hands of Halkyn seven days earlier.

It was the visitors who won the toss and they invited Quay to make first use of the batting track.

However, initially this didn't look to be the correct choice.

Decent efforts at the top of the order took the Connah's Quay tally through to 66 for one.

Mali Auty (46) was in good form, although he was one of the victims of Harrison Jones, who claimed a 2-16 return from his nine overs.

A decent target was still in reach for the hosts when they got to 133 for six, but Denbigh managed to gain control of proceedings by claiming the final four wickets for only two runs.

Doing the damage for the league leaders were Sam Lewis (3-32), Ciaran Lewis (3-34) and Joe Lewis (1-22).

Denbigh's target for victory was only 136 and they reached it with few concerns.

Opener Sam Lewis departed cheaply, but this wicket was followed by a 73-run partnership for the second wicket.

In decent form in the middle were opener Gerallt Lyall (31) and Harrison Jones.

Although a further two wickets fell, Denbigh were propelled to victory on the back of an unbroken stand of 58 for the fourth wicket.

There at the end were Jones (51 not out) and captain Tom Schrimshaw (22 not out) to guide their side to 136 for three with plenty of time to spare.

The pick of Connah's Quay's attack was Sajad Mukhtarzai (2-42).