THINGS are just champion for Denbigh Cricket Club in the North Wales Cricket League!

Requiring 14 points to secure the Division One title, the Ystrad Road side took maximum points from their home meeting with Buckley.

This meant that Denbigh claimed the championship, three points ahead of runners-up Halkyn, who defeated Hawarden Park by seven wickets.

The main plaudits must go to the Denbigh bowlers.

Buckley made first use of the batting track on Saturday, but they could only muster 71 all out in 25 overs.

Opener Rocco Franco (25) was the leading scorer, while Joe Lewis claimed 4-12 in his eight overs.

There was a superb 3-6 return from Harrison Jones and there were also wickets for opening bowlers Ifan Jones (2-25) and Sam Lewis (1-24).

Denbigh lost opener Gerallt Lyall cheaply during their reply, but it was all positive aside from this.

Sam Lewis and Harrison Jones compiled a patient second wicket partnership of 70 to take Denbigh to a winning 72 for one in the 25th over.

Lewis would finish up on 48 not out and Jones struck an undefeated 20 to spark the title-winning party.