THE quest to retain the North Wales Cricket League Premier Division title just came up short for St Asaph.

Last summer's champions thrashed Pwllheli by 161 runs in their final match of 2022, but they had to be satisfied with a runners-up finish as Menai Bridge made sure of the title with their five-wicket triumph versus Gresford.

Although they were unable to secure the top honour, it's still been a superb season for the Saints.

They won 20 of their 22 encounters over the course of the campaign and finished just eight points behind Menai Bridge, who won 21 games.

Saturday was also a huge day for Pwllheli, who required a positive outcome to stave off the threat of relegation to Division One.

The toss was won by St Asaph skipper Will Ryan and his message back to the changing room was for the openers to don their pads.

A good start to the innings was in the offing thanks to the efforts of Dan Evans (29) and Mathew Ryan (63).

They put on 51 for the opening wicket, while Ryan and Nathanael Scott (24) then added 58 for the second wicket.

Will Ryan (45) and Duncan Midgley (84 not out) supplied a fourth wicket partnership of 84 to take the St Asaph tally beyond the 200-mark.

The innings would go past 300 thanks to an unbroken fifth wicket partnership of 75 between Midgley and Jurie Norval (33 not out).

St Asaph's 50 overs yielded 304 for four, with S Aslam (2-18) being the pick of the Pwllheli attack.

The Gwynedd side needed points in their battle to beat relegation, but these were going to be hard to come by during the second portion of the afternoon.

C Taylor (41) and Jason Underwood (27) did attempt to keep their side in the contest, but Pwllheli were all out for 143 in the 40th over.

Jack Griffiths completed the campaign on a high with his four for 33 return with the ball, while Dan Evans took 3-38.

Jurie Norval grabbed 2-13 and there was also a wicket for Gareth Goodson as the home side took maximum points.

In an unprecedented summer, Saturday's results meant that every single Premier Division match in 2022 was completed.