ST ASAPH are the early season North Wales Cricket League Premier Division champions after they managed to make it two wins from two matches.

Following on from their triumph versus Northop to open the campaign, the Saints managed to see off Bangor in their next contest and they have a nine-point advantage at this early point of the season.

Things weren't straight-forward in their meeting with Bangor and the Gwynedd outfit enjoyed a bright start to the encounter.

The Saints were reduced to 22-2 and 75-5 as they batted first.

Nathanael Scott struck 31 batting at number three, however there was little in the way of support in the top order.

The situation swung into St Asaph's favour when skipper William Ryan came to the crease.

Batting at six, he struck an excellent 84 from 111 deliveries to help his side to set 184 all out.

Danny Ryan added a crucial knock of 21 lower down the order, as Owen Reilly (3-29) and Sam Bright (3-37) were the pick of the Bangor attack.

As with the earlier innings, Bangor's reply didn't get off to the greatest of starts.

Saints' bowlers were on top as their opponents were reduced to 33-3.

Matthew Haswell (39) and David Winter (37) did try and turn the momentum in their side's favour, however Bangor eventually ended up short on 155.

Dan Evans snapped up 4-28 for the Saints, while there were two wickets apiece from Gareth Goodson and Danny Ryan.