IT turned out to be a pivotal weekend in the race for this season's Premier Division crown.

Two of the division's top-three suffered defeats on a dramatic day, while Brymbo have now climbed into the top-two.

The pick of the matches saw Gwersyllt Park stun defending champions St Asaph in a thrilling three-wicket outcome.

The Saints were in second spot heading into the showdown and they were all out for 223 batting first.

Opener Mathew Ryan top scored with 69 for St Asaph, while Jake James (3-34), plus two wickets apiece from Venumadhav Peram, Neil Pearson and Ryan Collier kept the visitors well in the contest.

Collier (55), James (36) and Alfie Lythgoe (38 not out) supplied crucial contributions as Gwersyllt Park reached a winning 225 for seven with two-and-a-half overs to spare.

Dan Evans and Ryan Dunning claimed two wickets for St Asaph, who conceded a mammoth 50 extras.

Northop, third heading into the weekend, suffered a 52-run loss during their trip to Menai Bridge.

Confidence would have been high in the Northop ranks at the halfway stage after Bridge were dismissed for 143 (Ashraf Nawab 3-17, Ben Beaver 2-18, Bart Ryan-Beswick 2-25).

However, Northop's response could only realise 91 (A Wood 5-13).

Derby delight went the way of Brymbo with their 71-run triumph at home to Gresford.

Connor Davies (79) and Chris Taylor (55) compiled a third wicket stand of 102 as Brymbo's 50 overs yielded 231 for seven (Simon Perry 3-35, Tom Crewe 2-49).

Wes Evans (46) and Gareth Bell (36 not out) were the leading contributors in Gresford's reply of 160 (Mohamed Nilam Jayman 3-16, Dan Parry 2-23, Sam Aplin 2-27).

Leaders Mochdre made it six wins out of six via a 44-run outcome at Bangor.

Skipper Joe Chaplin (36) and Marcus Mangiameli (35) helped Mochdre to 192 for eight and Bangor were then all out for 148.

Llandudno are still searching for their first triumph of the season after they were beaten by 101 runs at home to Denbigh.

James Du Toit (84) and Sam Lewis (42) helped Denbigh to reach 234 for six (Jack Rimmington 4-55).

Despite a knock of 56 from Sam Rimmington, Llandudno's reply was eventually halted on 133.

Harrison Jones (3-4) was the star bowler from Denbigh's perspective.


Division Two: Corwen 111-9 Bersham 274-5; Gresford 2nds 124-8 Menai Bridge 2nds 123; Llay 203-6 St Asaph 2nds 128; Mochdre 2nds 212-8 Bangor 2nds 131-8; Pontblyddyn 2nds 46 Llanrwst 190.

Division Three: Bethesda 2nds 173-7 Caernarfon 177-3; Buckley 2nds 222 Halkyn 2nds 175-6; Denbigh 2nds 197-6 Mold 2nds 198-4; Gwersyllt Park 2nds 134 Connah's Quay 2nds 159; Hawarden Park 2nds 129 Pwllheli 115.

Division Four: Bersham 2nds 206-4 Dolgellau 2nds 22; Llanrwst 2nds 120 Llandudno 2nds 240-7; Marchwiel and Wrexham 2nds 280-4 Hawarden Park 3rds 91; Ruthin 2nds 255-6 Carmel & District 2nds 56.